Site Updates 5/2/2015

Doesn’t everyone look like this when they blog?

Hey everyone, Fiddletwix here giving a brief site update. I have added a few new pages to the site as well as a shiny new poll section off to the right. Here’s a quick breakdown of what these pages are;

AniManga Clash! – Throughout my time watching anime, I’ve noticed a very popular trend of complaining that anime is always inferior to the manga version, if one exists. This is far from a new trend as movies commonly get that from being adaptions of books, games and even TV series. However, is that really the truth? It’s been my overall experience that manga do indeed tend to be ‘better’ but what makes certain manga better than their anime counterparts? And most importantly, I’m on a search to see what series do their source material justice, or hell even do it better!

Episode One-Derland (Both anime and cartoons) – The way that I watch anime is rather sporadic. I will start watching a series, set it aside and not get a chance to talk about it full out for a while as I’ll have other shows ahead in my watch queue. Plus, some shows I drop very early on because of how terrible the first episode was. This series will hopefully allow me to share my initial feelings on a show without needing to review the entirety of it. Full reviews will likely come later down the road.

I am doing the same thing with cartoons, because I really just love animation, however, I will likely not get around to doing full reviews of them and instead update previous posts with my final thoughts.

Shounen/Shoujo Step-by-Step – Lots of shounen shows, especially fighting and gaming anime are particularly long and some are downright goofy on an episode by episode basis. Shows like One Piece and DBZ need to be broken down by arc for me to give my full thoughts while other shows like Bakugan and Battle B-daman deserve more of an episode by episode analysis in the same vein as my Pokemon episode reviews.

Shoujo shows sometimes last for long periods of time especially magical girl shows and romance dramas.

My criteria for this series is that it has to be particularly long (50+ episodes, though there is wiggle room and exceptions) and they have to give me at least something to poke fun at or something that I can more critically analyze.

Other than that, I hope to fix up my reviewing formats to make things a little cleaner in the future. On that note, my blog’s skin is a bit screwy when it comes to any posts that have pages. The page selections are at the very bottom of the post, a little out of sight, so if any review seems cut off, such as my Itsudatte, My Santa! Review, be sure to keep that in mind.

Here’s hoping you guys enjoy the new series, and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

