Air TV Review

Air TV Review

Air

Rating: 6.7/10

Plot: A boy named Yukito is on a journey to find the mysterious girl with wings who flies in the sky from the stories his mother used to tell him when he was young. During his travels, he meets a girl named Misuzu and quickly befriends her, with her even offering him to live at her house with her aunt. As Yukito searches for the winged girl, he realizes that there is far more behind this town and the girl Misuzu than meets the eye; leading him to friendship, love and tragedy.

Reasons for Rating: One of the hazards of taking my old reviews and revamping them is seeing anime that I’ve long since completed and rethinking my opinions on them. Some anime I’ve actually pulled a complete 180 on in opinion, but this wasn’t as drastic.

I first rated this series a 5/10 mostly for the bad-ish art and the fact that a good chunk of the series was confusing. Plus it sometimes gets overly dramatic. Air, at its core, is a very beautiful and warm story with many fleshed out and likeable characters each with their own interesting and usually supernatural in some way storyline. The problem I was so preoccupied with was that it seemed like this whole town was filled with people who in some way had mental problems yet all seemingly linking back to a supernatural reason somehow intertwining with an even bigger supernatural plot that I just didn’t understand very well.

I don’t really understand much better now, especially in terms of the ending. I don’t understand what happened to Yukito near the end, I don’t understand a bulk of what the various characters mental issues actually mean even with the supernatural explanations for some of them, I don’t really understand Misuzu’s situation with her father, unless he’s just a jerk. However, the stories for the characters, like I said, were very interesting. While I think tying them off together in a nice little bow just didn’t happen at all, they were nice standalone stories. It’s the fact that the tying just seemed so messy that really hurt it in my opinion.

And I do have to give this series props for being one of the few anime that has actually made me cry not once but twice. Since this show is so highly regarded by so many people, maybe I’m just missing something that is causing me to not understand. It’s by no means a bad show, but it’s also not a masterpiece in my eyes. Still a very enjoyable, heartwarming and tragic show that I’d recommend anyone to watch at least once.

 

Additional Information and Notes:

Air TV was based on a visual novel of the same name (Though be warned that the actual original game was an erotic visual novel. The game was later changed to remove the erotic content.)

It was directed by Tatsuya Ishihara who is also known for directing Clannad, Kanon, Fushigi Yuugi and The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya (Hell of a track record if I do say.) and it was written by Fumishiko Shimo. It was produced by Kyoto Animation and the English Dub is currently licensed under Funimation.

There was also a movie of the same name made along with a spinoff series called Air in Summer, both of which I may review in the future.

Year: 2005

Episodes: 13

Recommended Audience: There’s some degree of violence and a couple deaths in the series. There’s also a scene that involves suicide sorta. In addition, the subject matter itself is pretty heavy and the show is really dialogue heavy. 13+

Leave a Reply

