FLCL Review

FLCL/Fooly Cooly/Furi Kuri

FLCL

Rating – 8.5/10

Plot – Naota lives in a boring town where nothing special ever happens. He spends his days simply going through the motions, going to school, going home and sometimes playing baseball. He frequently spends time with his pseudo-girlfriend Mamimi, who was the girlfriend of his older brother who went to the States to play baseball. Naota’s boring life is turned upside down when a crazy woman named Haruhara Haruko comes bursting into town (literally) on her moped and runs into Naota (again, literally.) After a quick smack to the head with her guitar, he later finds a robot springing forth from the wound. Haruko is really an alien that has used her guitar to open up an interdimensional portal in Naota’s head in order to find the thing she’s been looking for for a long time.

Reasons for rating
– Well, in case you didn’t get it from the synopsis, this series has a very insane premise. But just because a show has an insane premise doesn’t mean it can’t work and FLCL shows this greatly.

The characters are all (for the most part) likable if not lovable, the story’s confusing as hell, but an insanely fun ride, the animation and art are unique and fun, the music’s amazing, it’s just great. It’s definitely one of my favorite anime.

Haruko also stands as being one of my favorite anime characters ever.
That being said, to be fair, I do have to point out some bad points.

For example, this may have been intentional, but the story’s very confusing and many things simply aren’t explained. I’ve watched the series several times over and I still don’t understand all of it.

Some of the characters aren’t entirely likable. Like Ninamori and Mamimi. I don’t, by any stretch of the imagination, hate them or even really dislike them, but I could never like them in the same league as Naota, Haruko and the others. Ninamori really just seems like Naota in girl form with slightly more passion and forwardness. Mamimi’s….gotta have mental problems. And not like 90% of this series’ cast has mental problems, I mean the bad kind. She spends half of the series in this deep depression that really drags everything down. She can be funny sometimes, but she’s really annoying during those last few episodes. I also don’t like how she basically uses Naota as a replacement for Tasuku (The aforementioned brother) and leads Naota on. She’s constantly making out with him, groping him, jumping all over him, yet when he tries to insinuate that their feelings are mutual she looks at him like he grew a second head.

Another thing that bothered me is we never really learn of Amarao’s backstory. It’s hinted that he had a backstory very similar to Naota’s and it’s obvious that Haruko has a past with him. However, details are never gone into. From what I can gather, Haruko showed up in his life just like she did with Naota and tried to open a portal in his head, but was disappointed when the guitar she pulled out was tiny. (It’s also a semi-running gag that the size of the guitar = size of da junk in yo pants) And I guess she just ditched him because she couldn’t get what she wanted from him.

Finally, there’s the length and ending. The show ends on a cliffhanger, for the most part, and is only 6 episodes long. I would’ve loved to have seen this go on for just a little longer.

Art – The art is perfect for this kind of show and it’s great that they change up the artstyle every now and then. The animation is also very well done; it’s very fluid and nice to look at during the action scenes.

Music
– This show has one of, if not is my most favorite anime soundtrack ever. Most (all?) of the music is done by the band The Pillows and they are awesome and a perfect fit for this show. All of the songs seem perfectly placed and matched up with scenes and none of the songs get on your nerves after repeats.

Voice acting – (English) Some of the greatest I’ve ever heard. Everyone does a great job and seems to really enjoy their roles, especially Haruko’s voice actress.

 

Additional Information and Notes:

 

FLCL/Furi Kuri/Fooly Cooly was directed by Kazuya Tsurumaki, director of Nadia: Secret of Blue Water, His and Hers Circumstances and Rebuild of Evangelion.

 

Written in collaboration between Yoji Enokido and Kazuya Tsurumaki.

 

Produced by Gainax.

 

Year: 2000—2001

 

Episodes: 6

Bottom line – Despite being short and sometimes confusing, this is a wonderful, funny anime that I think everyone should watch at least once. You won’t regret it.

Recommended Audience – There is some sexual content in this series. Some characters, mostly Haruko, wear pretty risqué clothing several times and, despite being censored, Naota’s dad gets naked on some occasions during the manga scenes. I’ve found that the TV version shown on Adult Swim actually has this scene more heavily censored than the DVD version, but the DVD version really isn’t that bad. Furi Kuri in itself is supposed to be a sexual innuendo I think. There are a couple iffy scenes, but nothing really happens. 13+

10 thoughts on “FLCL Review

  1. Good read. It’s nice finding other people who enjoyed this as much as I did. Usually FLCL is a straight swing-or-miss type show; you love it or you hate it. I feel like if it had an extra episode or two, it could probably spare a few minutes to explain everything that’s happening.

    • Thank you very much. 🙂 Yeah, I’ve also found that to be true. Just look at the three different reviews of the show on THEM anime reviews. One lists it as two stars, another four and another five. It’s hard to find an audience who was really a middle ground for this show. Not to say I don’t understand as the ‘plot’ and story are pretty confusing and the show doesn’t seem to put much effort into making it make much sense. It’s a show filled with insanity that just says “hey, let’s have fun and laugh!” and this show definitely has the talent for that to be plenty enough for me.

      I agree that it could’ve standed to have a couple more episodes either to explain more things or just for the sake of being more fun, but alas ’tis but a dream.

  2. Great review, FLCL is one of my favorites! I really like the strange humor. I think I get a general idea of the plot now…I think I kind of put it together in reverse order and by re-watching it, because I definitely wouldn’t know on the first viewing. SPOILER ALERT – I think she knows more than she appears to, and uses him to help her in her mission/and end up saving the town. (You can tell me if you think it’s different.) There is also a lot of fun and insanity that isn’t fully explained, and most of the characters are over-the-top and silly. I would say definitely go for the DVD/full version over the Adult Swim version, because in their censored version it some scenes don’t even make sense (or make less sense than they did…). I like how you pointed out the guitar gag because I hadn’t noticed that!…haha :). Also I haven’t read the manga yet, do you know if it’s different from the anime or explains more?

    • Glad you enjoyed it! 🙂 Haruko is definitely a difficult character to pin down. She’s a galactic police officer, so it could be completely possible that she’s feigning ignorance to further a mission against Medical Mechanica instead of her own selfish desires to get Atomsk. Or maybe it’s that she wants Atomsk’s power for a greater good. She did make an alias when she used to know Amarao as well, but it’s just difficult to know the truth since you never know if Haruko’s lying and with little information provided. It’s an interesting theory, though.

      I haven’t read the manga yet, though I intend to, but from my understanding it doesn’t build on the story or change it that much beyond a few details here and there, which is a shame, but I’m kinda okay leaving the story as it is. Sometimes the mystery is more fun than having the answers. ^_^

  3. Hi Fiddletwix, great talking to you again. I see from your anime list that I have a lot of series to catch up on. I’ve only seen a few series lately, such as Attack on Titan, No Game No Life, and a few others. If you’d like to talk about anime/manga more in the future, feel free to email me at emailbrianchristopher@gmail.com. I’m actually going to deactivate my blog for the time being, because I have had absolutely no time to update it, although I wish I did. Great meeting you again!

Leave a Reply

